Panel of the Week 3

I don’t much like Geoff Johns. He’s not particularly bad; in fact, he can be very competent. But he’s no Grant Morrison, and even if I had the fortune it would take, I wouldn’t go out and read everything he’s written. I didn’t like Blackest Night enough to finish reading, and I’m sure not going to read Brightest Day – except for Green Lantern 55, which has this character: Dex Starr, the feline Red Lantern. I guess he first appears in Final Crisis: Rage of the Red Lanterns, but here we get both his origin and his best panel. As his origin explains, he was a regular kitten, adopted from a litter by a loving cat mother.

But a burglar broke into their apartment and killed her! Left on the street, he was found by some jack-ass kids who decided to stuff him in a sack and drop him in a river. But felicitously, a red ring finds him before drowning – the RING OF RAGE! – and he’s reborn as Dex-Starr. He’s the Batman of cats.

God, kitty rage chokes me up.

This entry was posted in Panel of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Panel of the Week 3

  1. ACMC says:

    Geoff Johns’ writing has deteriorated over the years, he’s just been doing everything for DC, which hurts his writing. Stuff like this, definitely remind me of better times. Also, Grant Morrison is one of the greatest writers out there in my opinion. His ability to think outside the box, experiment with stories, take risk I can not sing the praises of that man enough. But, I had a lot of trouble reading Final Crisis though.

    • fourthage says:

      I agree with you; Geoff Johns isn’t a bad writer, but he has got to be overextended. As for Final Crisis, after thinking about it issue by issue and at greater length, I can see why people wouldn’t like Final Crisis, and I can certainly see why one would have trouble reading it. Even after I read it the first couple times, I felt like I didn’t understand or follow a lot of what I had read. As you say, Morrison thinks outside the box and is highly experimental, and I think that’s the cause of some of the best and worst things about Final Crisis. At any rate, whether it’s a good book or not, it’s certainly one of the strangest and most ambitious event books, and I find it absolutely mind-boggling that DC editorial let him do that book, if only because it’s a major company event that portrays the custodians of the multiverse and story telling, the Monitors – who have got to represent not only DC editorial, but comic writers and readers too – as vampires who feed on and corrupt stories.

Leave a Reply

